Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the best American picture book for children in the past year. It is also awarded annually by the American Library Association, and was created to recognize the best artwork in picture books, something the Newbery did not do. The first Caldecott Medal was awarded in 1938. Like the Newbery Medal, the winner is decided by a 14-member committee and 1 chair that adhere to strict rules of impartiality.