Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded to the best American book for children in the past year, and is awarded annually by the American Library Association. Started in 1922, The Newbery Medal was the world's first children's book award and remains the most prestigious. The winner is decided by a committee of 14 members and 1 chair. Committee membership changes yearly and there is a strict policy of service to ensure the impartiality of committee members.